Uncovering the 2015-16 Europa League Season: Will Sevilla Reign Supreme Yet Again?


Organized by UEFA, the 2015-16 Europa League is the second level of club tournament taking place on its 45th season. Earlier it was named as UEFA Cup that changed seven years ago to the UEFA Europa League.

As the last time winner Sevilla was automatically qualified for the group stage as the title holder, chances are there that they will not miss their title unless they will not finish as third position in the Champion’s League group stage.

As per the changed rules, all associations will be allowed to enter maximum of three teams in the Europa League in place of previous 7-9 groups of each association. Moreover, the numbers of teams as qualifying for group stage are increased to 16 teams of top 12 associations in place of previous six teams of top six associations.

When it is about the preview of Europa League, we need to know which 16 teams have finally confirmed their places in the group stage and from where the other 32 teams will come from. In fact, issues are there related to the draws and matches. And finally the countdown for the final will come in the discussion.

Who have qualified?

In this autumn, there are 48 teams who are going to context in this Europa League. Among them, 16 teams have already qualified such as Villarreal CF, FC Augsburg, ACF Fiorentina, SSC Napoli, FC Schalke 04, Liverpool FC, FC Lokomotiv Moskva, Tottenham Hotspur FC, Asteras Tripolis FC, Tottenham Hotspur FC, FC Groningen, RSC Anderlecht, SC Braga, Olympique de Marseille, FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk, FC Sion and Beşiktaş JK.

But what about the rest of 32 teams? From them, 22 teams will come from the qualifying round. The qualifying round has already played at the end of June 2015 (this year 22nd June) and it culminated in August 2015’s play-offs. From the remaining teams, ten teams have been transferred from the UEFA Champions League which have been lost the play-offs of the competitions there.

As the defending champion Sevilla has been crowned with the Europa League for last two seasons. On the other hand, West Ham is the first English Club that is taking the pitch in 2015-16 campaign due to the virtue of their Fair Play League. Southampton enters in the third round of play-off when Arsenal beats Aston Villa in order to win the FA Cup.

In the group stage of Europa League draw 2015-16, the fate of Liverpool, Celtic, Borussia and Tottenham have already found. At a glance-

  • Liverpool has drawn with Rubin Kazan, Bordeaux and Sion
  • Tottenham will face Anderlecht, Monaco and Qarabag
  • Along with Ajax, Molde and Fenerbahce, Celtic has placed in Group A.

What about the Final?

St. Jakob-Park of Basel, in Switzerland is going to host the 2015-16 Europa League Season in September 2016. In fact it will be the first competition that will be concluded in the country like Switzerland. We have to wait till now to see who will finally lift the champion’s trophy as there are many potential teams this time.

If you are certain that one team will rise to the occasion and claim the trophy once all is said and done, why not put your confidence to the test by opening an account at UK bookie 365 BET?

With the season just starting, it will be interesting to see how things play out over the next few months of exciting football action!